First Friday FATCA Update

Post by
July 7, 2017

Since our last monthly FATCA update, the IRS has updated its online FATCA portal to allow foreign financial institutions to renew their FFI agreements (see prior coverage).

Recently, the Treasury released the Model 1B Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between the United States and Montenegro.  The IRS also released the Competent Authority Agreements (CAAs) implementing IGAs between the United States and the following treaty partners:

  • Bahrain (Model 1B IGA signed on January 18, 2017);
  • Croatia (Model 1A IGA signed on March 20, 2015);
  • Greenland (Model 1A IGA signed on January 17, 2017); and
  • Panama (Model 1A IGA signed on April 27, 2016).

Under FATCA, IGAs come in two forms: Model 1 or Model 2.  Under a Model 1 IGA, the foreign treaty partner agrees to collect information of U.S. accountholders in foreign financial institutions operating within its jurisdiction and transmit the information to the IRS.  Model 1 IGAs are drafted as either reciprocal (Model 1A) agreements or nonreciprocal (Model 1B) agreements.  By contrast, Model 2 IGAs are issued in only a nonreciprocal format and require FFIs to report information directly to the IRS.

A CAA is a bilateral agreement between the United States and the treaty partner to clarify or interpret treaty provisions.  A CAA implementing an IGA typically establishes and prescribes the rules and procedures necessary to implement certain provisions in the IGA and the Tax Information Exchange Agreement, if applicable.  Specific topics include registration of the treaty partner’s financial institutions, time and manner of exchange of information, remediation and enforcement, confidentiality and data safeguards, and cost allocation.  Generally, a CAA becomes operative on the later of (1) the date the IGA enters into force, or (2) the date the CAA is signed by the competent authorities of the United States and the treaty partner.

The Treasury Department website publishes IGAs, and the IRS publishes their implementing CAAs.